62nd Anniversary of PEPSU Roadways opening Ceremony

62nd Anniversary of PEPSU Roadways opening Ceremony

Patiala-Partap Singh Kairon, Chief Minister of erstwhile United Punjab performed the Opening Ceremony of PEPSU Roadways (now Pepsu Roadways Transport Corporation) on the 18th may 1956 at its Head Office, Nabha Road, Patiala.

The Pepsu Road Transport Corporation, Patiala was set-up on 16th of October, 1956 under the provision of the Road Transport Corporations Act, 1950 with a view to provide efficient, adequate, economic and properly co-ordinated operation system of Road Transport Services in the State.

It commenced passenger transport operations with a meager investment of Rs. 25.00 lacs and the fleet of 60 buses covering 11,107 daily scheduled kilometers on 15 routes with 345 employees. At present, the PRTC had owned 912 ordinary buses, 2 AC buses and 24 HVAC buses and 36 hired buses under KM Scheme, 600 routes (including inter-state routes) covering a daily mileage of 349928 kilometers. It has 4744 employees as on 31.8.2009. There are 10 depots of the Corporation located at Patiala, Bathinda, Kapurthala, Barnala, Sangrur, Budhlada, Faridkot, Ludhiana, Chandigarh and Special Cell of KM Scheme at Patiala.

The Head office of the corporation is situated at Patiala. The operation of bus services by PRTC is not only confined to Punjab State, but it has also been providing bus services to the neighboring states like Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal and Union Territories of Chandigarh and Delhi. The PRTC provides services not only on intercity routes but also links the remote villages with the nearby towns and cities. It is also extending free/concessional travel facilities to various categories of commuters as per the instructions of the State Govt. from time to time.

New services on the routes Faridkot – Delhi, Faridkot – Chandigarh, Ludhiana – Delhi have been added

62nd Anniversary of Pepsu Roadways opening Ceremony


PRTC is having 10 depots all over Punjab the details of which are as given below along with the fleet strength and scheduled kilometer:

Depots and Fleet of Pepsu Road Transport Corporation

Depot Owned Buses Hired Buses Total Scheduled KMs Alloted
Patiala 8HVAC + 2AC +162 Ordinary Buses=172 3 AC 175 56688
Sangrur 96 2 98 34286
Kapurthala 86 0 86 27314
Bathinda 12 HVAC + 118 Ordinary 39 169 59064
Budhlada 61 0 61 20264
Barnala 84 0 84 29380
Ludhiana 6 HVAC + 77 Ordinary 32 Ordinary + 8 Integral AC 123 37870
Faridkot 71 Ordinary + 3 HVAC + 19 Kilometer Scheme 0 93 28188
Chandigarh 10 HVAC+103 Ordinary=113 0 113 42020
Spl. Cell 0 20 Ordinary 20 12543
Total/Avg. 938 36 974 349928

Source-PRTC website